It was the question so many locals in Dunfanaghy have been asking – what will the Old Boathouse become.

Now the answer has arrived.

The protected stone structure, which sits proudly on Dunfanaghy Pier, had been tipped to be so many things but is now to be unveiled as a bike shop with a small cafe and apartments upstairs.

Local social media page, Dunfanaghy Life, told of the plans yesterday.

Dunfanaghy Pier was built in c1831 by the Stewarts of Ards, before a boathouse was then erected on it in 1880.

In 2010, the pier was given Listed status for its special architectural and historical significance.

Plans to redevelop the iconic boathouse began four years when it was purchase on the open market.

Dunfangahy LIfe reports that the ground floor will remain open plan, with the main entrance facing the quay.

At the front overlooking Dunfanaghy Bay will be the cycling shop, including an adjacent bike repair workshop within the two-storey extension on the far side facing the castle mound.

At the back will be a small café service area, including an external coffee hatch facing the Market Square. The top floor will be made into a three-bedroom apartment with a front living room overlooking Horn Head.

It is hoped the business venture will create three permanent jobs and potentially an additional three temporary roles during the high season.

From boat house to bike shop – Dunfanaghy gets a new business was last modified: March 9th, 2026 by Staff Writer

Tags: