The America 250 plate will be available to Florida drivers beginning this week.

TAMPA, Fla. — Floridians now have a new license plate option that celebrates America’s birthday.

The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles announced the release of the new America 250 license plate, commemorating the country’s 250th anniversary on July 4, 2026.

Officials say the new plate gives Floridians a “meaningful way” to celebrate the upcoming Independence Day holiday by showcasing their pride on the road.

“The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is honored to give Floridians a meaningful way to participate in our nation’s 250th anniversary,” FLHSMV Executive Director Dave Kerner said in a statement. “This commemorative plate reflects our shared pride in America’s history and is a symbol of our state’s connection to America’s past.”

The new plate serves as an alternative to the standard Florida license plate, with all regular fees applying. 

Drivers can request the America 250 license plate at the time of vehicle registration or renewal. The plate will be available through multiple channels, including local tax collector offices and authorized tag agencies.

The America 250 plate will be available to Florida motorists beginning this week.

“Florida’s rich history continues to shape the American story,” said Secretary of State Cord Byrd, Chair of Florida’s Semiquincentennial Commission, in a statement. “The America250FL license plate is a public way for Floridians to honor this legacy and participate in the America250FL celebration. Visit America250FL.com and follow America250FL on X, Facebook, and Instagram to stay informed about ways to commemorate America250FL and our history.” 


Florida license plate law

The announcement of the America 250 plate comes around two months after a new Florida law cracking down on drivers who block or alter the visibility of their license plates went into effect.

House Bill 253 created new penalties and increased the punishment for covering, obscuring, or altering a vehicle’s license plates or stickers.

What is not allowed on Florida license plates includes:

Tinted coversPlastic shieldsDecorative frames that obstruct the letters, numbers or registration date Anything that makes it hard to read the plate

Drivers who don’t comply could face up to a $500 fine and spend up to 60 days in jail. It’s a criminal violation classified as a second-degree misdemeanor that requires a mandatory court appearance.