NFL rules require Goff to stop for at least one second before the snap. Jamie Squire / Getty Images
It was an interesting idea, but the execution was just a little bit off. And illegal.
The Detroit Lions scored a touchdown on a trick play in the first quarter against the Kansas City Chiefs on Sunday night — only they didn’t. It would have given them at least a 6-0 lead in a big prime-time showdown.
On fourth-and-goal at the Chiefs’ 1-yard line, Jared Goff lined up under center with running back David Montgomery and tight end Brock Wright behind him in a T-formation. But instead of taking the snap from center, Goff went in motion to the left. Montgomery, a former high school quarterback, got the snap in the backfield and threw to Goff, who powered his way into the end zone after a brief bobble.
However, after a conference between referees, the officials ruled that Goff’s movement was illegal. According to referee Craig Wrolstad’s explanation on the field, “The quarterback never got set, therefore it’s illegal motion, offense No. 16.”
According to Section 4, Item 3 of the NFL rulebook:
It is legal for a T-Formation Quarterback to go in motion, whether he has placed his hands under center, on his knees, or on the body of the center. However, it is a false start if the action is quick and abrupt. If the player fails to come to a complete stop for at least one full second prior to the ball being snapped, it is illegal motion.
The Lions were penalized five yards and later kicked a field goal for a 3-0 lead with 5:21 remaining in the first quarter. It wasn’t quite the ending Lions coach Dan Campbell hoped for after his team had consumed nearly 10 minutes on the opening drive.
At halftime, the Chiefs were leading the Lions 13-10.
Oct 13, 2025
Connections: Sports Edition
Spot the pattern. Connect the terms
Find the hidden link between sports terms
Play today’s puzzle