We’ve seen a tsunami of dietary-modified nostalgic snacks in the past few years, from protein Pop-tarts and gluten-free Cheez-Its to plant-based Jell-O pudding. There was a while where it seemed like we were reporting about one of these new releases each week. But lately, the water has been unusually still. Now, though, there’s a rumbling underneath the surface: a new release fit for anyone who loves a buttery wheat cracker, sans the wheat. Yep, the rumours are true: You can now buy gluten-free Ritz crackers.
The new crackers are made with cornstarch, yellow corn flour, faba bean protein, tapioca flour and oat flour. They’re also sweetened with invert sugar, while the original version uses high fructose corn syrup. According to the brand, the new crackers are free from artificial colors and flavors (another trend we’ve seen lately).
I tried the new gluten-free Ritz crackers side-by-side with the originals (the perks of being able to digest gluten — sorry!). Only a few in the box were broken, which could have been a lot worse given the gluten-free of it all (plus, they were mailed to me). What was actually disappointing, though, is that the new crackers don’t come in Ritz’s signature sleeves.
The gluten-free Ritz are slightly smaller and noticeably crunchier than the OGs. Taste-wise, they’re similar to the original but a little less flavorful: not as buttery and obviously without the wheaty taste. However, this also means they’re not as heavy. Given all these qualities, I found myself reaching for the box of gluten-free Ritz throughout the weekend, while the gluten version sat lonely on my shelf, untouched.
So, will a gluten-free Ritz satisfy a Ritz craving? It depends on how identical you need them to be. I suspect that for most gluten-free snackers, they’ll get the job done. Either way, though, they’re a darn good cracker.
The crackers are available at Walmart and Albertsons starting October 19, rolling out to retailers nationwide starting February 2027.